7174615254 info@abdigital.com

Tories Who Voted Against Withdrawal Agreement

Section 13 of the 2018 Act required the government to use a motion in a neutral manner in response to the Prime Minister`s written statements of January 21 and 24, in which he outlined her “Plan B.” In accordance with the “three-day amendment” to Dominic Grieve`s parliamentary calendar, this application was filed on 21 January (three days of session after the rejection of the draft withdrawal agreement by MEPs) and put to a vote on 29 January 2019. It was passed in the form of a resolution that the House of Commons had “thought about” the Prime Minister`s statements. This neutral proposal was amended and, prior to the vote on the main motion, the House of Commons voted on seven amendments proposed by Members and chosen by the spokesperson. [82] The reoriented House of Commons is very different from the one that voted on the withdrawal agreement in October. MPs voted at second reading on the government`s withdrawal agreement. With Boris Johnson`s 80-person majority, the bill was passed with a comfortable lead, with 358 votes and 234 against. However, many would only support the Conservative government if they feared Britain would be on the brink of a Brexit without a deal. Only five Labor MPs supported the deal: John Mann, Rosie Cooper, Kevin Barron, Jim Fitzpatrick and Caroline Flint. Two others, Dennis Skinner and Ronnie Campbell, abstained. Some of those who supported the government will likely face a counter-reaction from grassroots activists, with the threat of impeachment. In her February 12 statement, the Prime Minister reaffirmed her goal of having a second “useful vote” on a withdrawal agreement.

She indicated that if this were not the case on February 26, the government would make a new statement to Parliament on the government`s progress and would introduce a amended motion to that declaration, which is expected to be put to a vote on February 27. Since none of the proposals presented in the second round were able to obtain a majority in the House of Commons, a third round of indicative votes was scheduled for April 3. [110] On 3 April 2019, the House of Commons instead focused on the debate on the “European Union Bill (Withdrawal) (No. 5).” The bill is also known as the Cooper-Letwin Bill, after its main sponsors, Yvette Cooper (Labour) and Oliver Letwin (Conservative). The bill requires the government to obtain approval for an extension of the EU`s exit, if at all. In this regard, the House of Commons first debated a proposal from the House of Representatives to allow the legislation to be introduced for debate that day. There was an amendment to the Business of the House proposal to see more indicative votes by April 8, 2019; This failed in the first undecided vote since 1993. [111] The tightest and last vote took place on March 29, 2019: the majority against the government fell to 58, and a change of votes of 30 opponents to a position of support would have reversed the result. The second (Amendment 12) deprives ministers of the power to decide which courts may depart from the judgments of the European Court of Justice.

MEPs voted against by 241 votes in favour and 205, which resulted in the amendment. The first (Amendment 18) would ensure the continuity of refugee children and the provisions of the European Union Withdrawal Act 2018 relating to family reunification.